A lovely story

November 14, 2015 at 1:51 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

By Neha DSouza

My ex boyfriend (then boyfriend) introduced me to his parents one month into our relationship. His parents received me warmly and were very kind and hospitable towards me.

Twenty-three days later, my ex boyfriend called things off between us. He gave me no definite reason for his sudden decision. The only answer I could extract from him was:

“It won’t work.”

I tried reasoning with him but he remained indifferent and unmoved. Now many things went through my head at that point. I thought of various theories that could have driven him into making this decision. One of the things that passed through my head was that his parents had probably pressurized him into ending things with me.

Anyway all this drama happened a week before my birthday and to top it all, my parents were abroad on a vacation. So I was alone and dumped and wallowing in self pity.

So, on my birthday, when the door bell rang in the morning at around 11 am, I was surprised to see my ex boyfriend’s father at my doorstep.

I welcomed him inside. He wished me and handed over a small parcel.

“What is this?” I asked

“Biryani and pork chilly” he replied.

I was stunned. “Uncle, this is unnecessary”

He said, “I know my son ruined your Birthday. And I know your parents are not around. We didn’t want you to be sad and hungry today. So this is a little food from me and aunty. We know this won’t make up for the pain he caused you.”

I didn’t know what to say. So I kept quiet.

“I apologise for my son’s cruelty. I don’t think you realise it now, but you dodged a bullet”

“I beg your pardon?” I asked.

“My son is impulsive, reckless and takes no responsibility for his actions. You deserve so much better.”

I was tongue tied and choked with emotion. How could such a humble man have such a stupid son?

“If you must know, we really liked you. His decision to end things with you was solely his eccentric head at work.”

“He didn’t give you any reason either?” I asked

“No, my son doesn’t have reasons for the things he does”

I thanked him for the biryani and promised I’d call his wife and thank her too.

As he got up to leave he said

“I don’t know if my son meant any of the things he promised you. I don’t even know if he loved you. But I assure you that we love you as a daughter and you are always welcome at our home”

I will never forget that boy’s father.

From Quora

..

..

THE NEWS

Odd news from around the world

Boys must jump off bridge to become men: “HOW and when does a boy become a man? You may automatically think something traditional like a bar mitzvah, but one European country has a very unique coming of age custom that is no mean feat. In Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina, 16-year-old boys must plummet about 24m off the Stari Most bridge, into the chilly abyss of the Neretva river. Locals say a man will be a complete life failure if he doesn’t take the plunge — he can forget about a job and a girlfriend. But this tradition, causing them to hit the water at about 80km/h in three seconds, is no longer just something for Bosnian men. It’s now an attraction for daring — or idiotic — backpackers passing through. The Mostari diving club pretty much mans the bridge daily and charges tourists a hefty fee of 25 euros if they want to jump. If a tourist successfully plunges, they are hailed into the club and can jump for free for the rest of their life.”

Flying Firemen in Dubai: “Dubai has moved to protect its forest of skyscrapers – which includes the world’s tallest, the 2,700ft Burj Khalifa – by ordering jetpacks for its firefighters. The city’s Directorate of Civil Defence has ordered 20 of the $200,000 machines, made by New Zealand-based Martin Aircraft Company, plus two simulators for training. The incredible machines have 200-horsepower fan-driven engines that give them a top speed of 45mph and an altitude ceiling of 3,000 feet, which means they’ll be able to reach the top of the Burj Khalifa. They can even be piloted remotely. Martin Aircraft Company explained that the jetpack will mean Dubai’s firefighters can reach areas even helicopters can’t. It said: ‘The jetpack can take off and land vertically (VTOL) and because of its small dimensions, can operate in confined spaces such as close to or between buildings, near trees or in confined areas that other VTOL aircraft such as helicopters cannot access.”

Snake tries to kill gator: “This is the incredible moment a python wraps itself round the neck of an alligator in a brutal deathmatch on the banks of the Florida Everglades. The Burmese python was photographed trying to constrict the angry beast, not far from an asphalt road with people traveling down it. An unnamed photographer caught the scene, which shows the two in the midst of battle at the Everglades National Park in Homestead. The alligator can be seen trying to fight back, and has maneuvered the powerful serpent’s tail into its jaws, and appears to be clamping down. At the same time, the snake has managed to loop itself around the beast’s thick abdomen and is trying its best to constrict the beast. It is not clear who has won the fight.

Herd of elephants find a handy waterhole. Let’s hope they like chlorine: “This is the amazing moment a herd of elephants surprised a group of tourists by taking a drink from their luxury lodge’s swimming pool. The group were sitting on their veranda eating a meal at nThambo Tree Camp in the Kruger National Park, South Africa, when the animals arrived. Footage shows the mothers and calves sucking up the cool liquid as temperatures hit nearly 37C. A parched bull can also be seen appearing from nowhere and barging one of the youngsters aside. Carolynne Higgins, a guest who watched the action unfold, said: ‘We watched the herds drinking from the small splash pool. The nThambo camp, which boasts ‘accommodation at eye level with the trees’, is open and large predators can roam freely throughout. The elephants in the XXX-clip are just metres away from the wooden decking and sun loungers.” ‘With so many herds wanting a slice of the action, the maintenance crew spent the next few days refilling the pool.'”

Chinese racism: “Shocking footage has been posted online showing a white British man and his girlfriend being racially abused by a stranger on a train in Taiwan who described her as a ‘whore’ for being with a ‘foreign scrounger’. The abuse directed at Christopher Raymond Hall and his partner was so strong that she began recording the attack on her smartphone. It becomes immediately apparent that the man has an issue with Mr Hall having a Taiwanese girlfriend. The abuse lasts several minutes and begins with the stranger saying that Mr Hall has a ‘horse face’. He then says: ‘Look at you, this kind of whore, with this piece of trash foreigner. I’ll remember your face. The whole of Taiwan despises you, you f****** whore.’ Dressed in a blue shirt and spectacles, he then carries on hurling abuse at the pair. Mr Hall tries to reason with him, but the man becomes even more threatening. After a few minutes the stranger becomes extremely threatening and warns the pair ‘to be careful’. The Taiwanese man has been cautioned for pushing Mr Hall, according to China Television Co.

And don’t forget to catch up with all the Strange Justice before you go.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

